About UsDepartment logo 2c

You care about your community.
You care about nature and the great outdoors.
You care about Michigan.
And, yes, you care about your wallet.

We do, too.

So together, we do the simple, everyday things that addresses all these: reducing, reusing, recycling, and composting.

Thank you for recycling with us!

Your DPW Team

DPW Board

Dennis Keiser, Bear Creek Township Supervisor, Chair
William Dohm, Little Traverse Township Supervisor, Vice Chair

Arden Bawkey, Emmet County Drain Commissioner
Doug Fuller, Member at Large
Dave Bachelor, Emmet County Commissioner
Charlie MacInnis
, Emmet County Commissioner
Burt Notestine, Emmet County Road Commission


DPW County Employees

Andi Shepherd, Director – 231-348-0640
Josh Brubacher, Operations Manager (fleet, facilities, processing, shipping, receiving) – 231-526-2031 x7
Wendy Fought, Drop-off Center and Safety Manager (drivers, attendants, data) – 231-526-2031 x6
Ashley Bur, Assistant to the Director – 231-348-0640
Kate Melby, Communications and Education Coordinator – 231-348-0640
Jayna Steffel, Administrative Secretary (accounts payable and receivable) – 231-348-0640
Lindsey Walker, Recycling Outreach (commercial curbside recycling, event recycling, markets) – 231-348-0648

Roger Duffiney
Harold Evans
Mark Freske
John Harrington
Nate Hopkins
Grady Smyley
Jon Zoerhof
Earl Marshall
Jason Coleman
DPW Attendants (they serve our customers, operate the Waste Transfer Station and drive the Recycling Trucks)
Zack Elya
Gary Moyer
Jaime Pethers
Michael Williams
Kelsey Boda
Recycle Processors

We also would like to acknowledge the hard work of the contract employees who serve the DPW and the crew from Straits Area Services who sort your day-to-day recyclables!

Annual Report: The Whole Works

Our annual report to the Emmet County Board of Commissioners summarizes the biggest developments and highlights of the last year.  We call it The Whole Works 2019. For past Annual Reports, visit our History page.








Solid Waste Ordinance 11-04

Emmet County’s new Solid Waste Ordinance 11-04 replaces the previous 99-40 Solid Waste Ordinance.